h1

Task 14 – Finale!

detsember 14, 2010

The fourteenth task – What is it you are going to take with you from this course, be it negative or positive experience, content-related or organisational aspects and so on? Write down your experiences, observations, reflections on your Weblog.

I learned in detail the discussions and different views on the concept of “interactivity”, the changes occurred in the field of mass media (turning towards personal media), the theory and application of “activity theory”, possible components of an interactive environment (based on two learning networks) and their classification.

I like reading about the theoretical background and discussions of the terms, understanding the concepts and various viewpoints. This was also what we mainly had to do during the course. I agree that is basis of understanding the “real systems and environments.” I feel that we just reached almost there in our last assignments and based on the course program we had been given, I expected we would learn about, use and analyse more networks.

The most useful and interesting were the few practical tasks thinking about an activity, visualising or systemising it and in the end re-instrumentalising a non-computer activity to using the means of computer technology. It would have been great if there were more tasks like that about various environments.

Organisationally I find having a plan in before hand about the course outline (which is a must in our university, but did not occur here) to be a great asset to a learning situation. It is much more beneficial (for me personally) to gain some knowledge and abilities if I get to see the structure of the process before starting with it. I suppose it has become a must at university also because it has proved to be a precondition of successful learning.

Nevertheless, I appreciate dynamics and unexpected situations to learn to cope with them, just I did not find a course where we need to learn about some certain (more or less) phenomen to be the right place for that. It would be great if Sebastien could explain the connection now, while I remember from our first (or second) flash meeting him saying that we will see in the end what he had in mind and how having no understanding of the course outline helps us better understand the “interactive environments”. Having said that, I feel like I should try to figure it out myself.. :)

All in all, I put much effort to it and think I did good on the course. It was nice having the first personal feedback and also Terjes’ (at least posted by Terje, if Sebastien also contributed) summarised reflections on other posts. It would be nice to attend a following course getting into what the course program said about the more practical side. (“Learning outcomes: Have an overview of the user interaction over TV, mobile phones, GPS,wireless technology and interactive advertising. – Be aware of the limits and possibilities of interoperability within and across various media channels. – Ability to evaluate global chains of production processes, with multi-channel content delivery and interaction possibilities.” )

 

.

Üks kommentaar

  1. Dear Maarja,
    Thank you for contributing and sharing your ideas. I really enjoyed reading your thoughts and your participation gave a lot to the overall course. I appreciate the feedback and I know there is a lot to reflect on and think about.
    Merry Christmas and good luck with your next important event!
    Terje



Lisa kommentaar